Moon and river…

on

One of my favourite spots in panaji is the backside of indoor stadium from where I can watch the beautiful and serene Mandovi River. I don’t mind coming here at any time of the day or night. I remember, after I had attended my deity’s fair (Malini Poornima) somewhere in Jan 2013, I had left from Marcel at 3.30 am. I was all alone and with music playing in my car, I enjoyed the drive. I reached panaji at 4.00 am and I had the urge to visit this place. So instead of going home, I came here. My mind of screaming of all possible eventualities but somehow I ignored it. 
I reached indoor stadium, parked my car and got out. There was no one. The area was completely deserted. I entered the premises and walked till the railing. I could see the Reis Magos fort. I looked at the water. I don’t know why but I felt that the water was happy to see me. I stared at it for a long time. I felt that the tide had started increasing. The sound of the waves hitting the rocks was hypnotising. I looked up and there it was…. The beautiful full moon glowing beautifully in the sky and showing off with the veil of beautiful shimmering stars. I wish…. I just wish… I had a camera in my hand. But I also knew that the moment captured in a device would be nothing compared to the picture painted in my mind. I turned, walked up to by car, waved a goodbye to the moon and the river and drove home.
Right now, I am here. The same old spot. Staring at the river. Listening to all the bizarre songs that are playing on the river cruises. Remembering all the bittersweet memories and smiling as this place always has a calming effect on me. Yes! I have made a solemn promise to myself that as long as I live… I’ll keep coming here. 

(C)ashwininaik

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Umesh Shet says:

    Beautiful..my favourite place in Panjim.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

